top of page

Adult Rehabilitative Mental Health Services (ARMHS)


Our Adult Rehabilitative Mental Health Services Mental Health Practitioners can provide remote and face-to-face services. Face-to-face services can be provided in the person's home, job site, or in the community. Mental Health Practitioners will work with the person served in the following areas:

Diagnostic Assessment: A Diagnostic Assessment (DA) is an assessment that is necessary to determine an individual’s eligibility for mental health services. The DA is a report that documents the clinical and functional face-to-face evaluation of a person’s mental health. This assessment is the only ARMHS service that must be completed by a Mental Health Professional.

Functional Assessment: A Functional Assessment (FA) is a type of assessment that both assesses and describes how a person’s mental health symptoms impact with their day-to-day levels of functioning in key areas. An individual must have impairments in at least three areas, including mental health, to be eligible for ARMHS. A level of care assessment is completed in conjunction with the FA, which determines the level of care a person should receive within the community.

Individual Treatment Plan: An individual treatment plan (ITP) is a written plan that documents the treatment strategy, the schedule for accomplishing the goals and objectives, and the responsible party for each treatment component.

Basic Living and Social Skills: Basic living and social skills are activities that instruct, assist and support the person served in skill areas essential for every day, independent living.

Community Intervention: Community intervention is a service of strategies provided on behalf of the person served to do the following:

  • Alleviate or reduce a member’s barriers to community integration or independent living

  • Minimize the risk of hospitalization or placement in a more restrictive living arrangement

To be eligible for ARMHS, a person must:

  • Be 18 years old or older

  • Have a primary diagnosis of a serious mental illness as determined by a Diagnostic Assessment

  • Have a completed level of care assessment justifying the need for ARMHS

  • Have a significant impairment in functioning in three or more areas of the Functional Assessment domains specified in statute

 If you would like to make a referral for ARMHS, please fill out the referral form below and email it to If you are interested in learning more about our ARMHS department, please feel free to email us as well.

***At this time, we are unable to accept referrals for clients residing outside of Hennepin County, Ramsey County, and Washington County***

bottom of page